Segmentation fault on an ARM device
Hello.

I have compiled D1X-Rebirth v0.58.1 on an MK808, an Ubuntu-compatible ARM device not too different to a Raspberry Pi.

Whenever I try to run Descent though, I encounter a segmentation fault once the title screen appears. This is what strace produces. On some occasions, the game exits with the strange message *** glibc detected *** ./d1x-rebirth: free(): invalid pointer: 0x0093b800 ***.

Since my device is compatible with OpenGLES, I compiled D1X using scons opengl=0 opengles=1. I have dumped the output of the compilation process here.

I am rather new to this, so I am not quite sure what is wrong. I would expect that my system is compatible, as other games using SDL and OpenGLES (etc.) manage to run, and moreover D1X runs successfully on similar systems. Am I missing certain libraries, or should I tweak the environmental variables when installing? Might there alternatively be a problem with my hogfile? If it helps, here is a list of libraries installed on my system.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Hello fish and Welcome,

I'm sorry if I cannot offer a direct help since right now I have no access to either ARM nor OpenGL ES-capable hardware. But maybe you could probably add a GDB backtrace? That would give me a point on where exactly the program crashes.

If you don't know how to do that, here's a little tutorial:
- Check that gdb is installed (usually has it's own package on most Linux distributions)
- Compile Rebirth with the debug flag (i.e. "scons opengl=0 opengles=1 debug=1")
- Launch d1x-rebirth with gdb: "gdb ./d1x-rebirth". Now you enter the gdb shell.
- In gdb shell launch d1x-rebirth itself (in window mode so you won't get stuck on the crash) via "run -window"
- Run the program until the point where it crashes.